Tennessee Will Be Hands Free While Driving and Talking Beginning July 1st
In July 2018, Tennessee changed cellphone laws banning drivers under the age of 18 from using a cellphone while driving and no one can use a hand-held device while in a school zone. Previous laws banned drivers from texting and driving. Tennessee is progressing to no hand-held devices shall be used while driving beginning July 1, 2019.
Legislation says those over the age of 18, may still use hands-free devices including “earpieces, headphone devices or a device worn on a wrist to conduct a voice-based communication.” Exemptions to the law in performance of official duties are law enforcement, first responders, utility workers and any driver using their hand-held device to make an emergency call.
Beginning July 1st, drivers using a hand-held device could face up to a $200.00 penalty. The first violation a driver will receive a $50.00 fine; if a driver has a third violation or the violation results in a traffic crash, the fine will be $100.00. The fine is $200.00 if the violation occurs when workers are present or in a school zone.
The Morristown Police Department is making citizens aware of the new law in order to reduce traffic crashes, change habits and keep Morristown’s roadways safer for all drivers and their families.