Request email notification when page changes E-Notify

council members 2015

City Council Members
Pictured: (Front Row) Mayor Gary Chesney, Vice-Mayor/Councilmember Kay Senter
(Back Row, L to R) Council Members Dennis Alvis, Bob Garrett, Ken Smith, Chris Bivens, and Tommy Pedigo

The Morristown City Council is composed of the Mayor and six Council members elected to staggered four-year terms. Public meetings are held the first and third Tuesday of every month at 5 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the City Center. The local paper announces any deviation from the normal schedule.

The function of the Council is to:

  • Adopt and amend City ordinances and resolutions;
  • Determine City policies and standards of service;
  • Levy, assess and collect taxes;
  • Determine how much money is to be spent and for what purposes;
  • Uphold all City ordinances;
  • Appoint citizens to various boards and committees;
  • Responsibly represent the citizens of the City of Morristown as the political leadership.